Swedish fan

This is a post mostly based upon the fact that I’m Swedish, but I think all of us can appreciate great workmanship when we see it. 😉
See, I was browsing the MET for my new Tumblr – Awesome fashions of all times, and I searched for what Swedish obejcts they might have. I came across this very elaborate fan from the 18th century, made by a Swedish fellow named Carl Gustav Klingstedt in 1715–25.
The motif is somewhat macabre – scenes from land and sea battles. I guess you would want to depict your countrys proudest moments where people can see them and Sweden was kind of a superpower in Europe in the 17th century and fought big battles, see. Prolly made sense back then – but to me it looks strange. XD

Swedish fan at the MET

Swedish fan at the MET

Detail

Detail

Detail

Detail

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Swedish fan”

  1. Isis Says:

    It’s beautiful, but I agree, an odd choice.

  2. Pierre-Henri Biger Says:

    Alas this beautiful “pagoda fan” is not Swedish, ca 1760, and so some 30years after Klingstedt’s death in Paris, and not truly in Klingstedt style.

Leave a comment