Crochet craze!

I haven’t done chrochet since 4th grade, I made a pouch in black, purple, yellow and pink and since then I haven’t done any crochet at all! This christmas my sister Jennie gave me this book “Virka Amigurumi” (Crochet Amigurumi).

At first I had my doubts, would I be able to learn this fine complicated art again? But since I’m a total japanophile I had to give it a try… Turns out it actually isn’t very complicated at all and now I’m hooked! I’m not just making cute little japanese plushies – I’m making cupcakes and wrist warmers with all kinds of decorations. Now I see myself making simple lace, caps, shawls and fichus in the future!
   Today I went through Jane of all trades… to see what I had missed during my dark ages of ignorance. Remember that reference book Encyclopedia of Needlework, by Thérèse Dillmont? The online version…? (Which now contains tutorial videos on YouTube, btw…) Well Clare of  Jane of All Trades… found an online version of a book of the same character, namely Beeton’s Book of Needlework, by Isabella Beeton. And as far as I can see it’s even better than the Encyclopedia of Needlework!

I have tried to see what crochet work was made during the 18th century, I had a hard time finding anything and then I found this:

Both crochet and tatting are 19th century techniques. There are a few books around that talk about crochet and tatting dating back to the 15th century or earlier, but so far, those who have looked for or looked at the textiles in question either find that they’re nonexistent or are mislabled needle lace or knotting (which are not the same as tatting), or nalbinding (which can look a little like crochet but is really not the same thing). (http://www.marariley.net/knitting/knitting.htm)

Darn it… Oh well – I might cheat on that matter… ;P

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Crochet craze!”

  1. Mme B Says:

    I also did some crocheting when I was a kid. I remember it as a very rewarding craft because you got very much done in little time (at least with my size of the yarn and the hook! XD ). Those Japanese animals/figures are so adorable I’m almost tempted to try my hands at crocheting again.

  2. Clare Sager Says:

    Aww – that tortoise is possibly the cutest thing I’ve seen in my entire life! I’d love to see what you’ve made.

    That needlework book I found does look pretty handy, though it’s a shame that the tatting and crochet isn’t 18th century :/ I am thinking of having a go at the needle lace, though…

  3. Occasional Crafter Says:

    Hiya, umm, sorry to butt in, but there’s a while bunch of archived needlework and crochet patterns lurking around online that you might like – like this:
    http://www.archive.org/stream/rulesdirectionsf00finl

    Not sure if it’s old enough for you, but you might like a look anyway, there’s some lovely stuff 🙂

  4. johanna Says:

    That bow-pattern would fit SO WELL in the gowns. interesting to see what you come up with. And the ladies would have so totally had crochet-lace in their gowns, esp. those “shepardess-simple dresses”.

Leave a Reply

