New year – new energy

During the holidays I’ve been taking up on my blog feeds, getting myself very inspired indeed! =)
I’ve finished those tricky front hems on the pet-en-l’air, only the bottom hem left and then I can start the trimming and the stomacher! =D
I’ve had some thinking to do on the front hemming thing, I haven’t done a lot of detailed research, but by looking at images of dresses from the time – I’ve concluded that there is a big variation in how they went about it. So I just did what I felt would work best with my knowledge and what would look ok. I don’t know if I dare show pictures of how I’ve solved the problem, tough… ^^;
So that’s where I’m at right now. I might continue with the shift for a change of “scenery”, maybe put on some lace. ^^
One thing that’s been bothering me though, is that I might have to make a hiproll or something. The pet-en-l’air to me seem to not look very good with the size of pocket hoops I have (and still am working on ^^;), they look too big and wide… =S Oh well, that’ll have to be a later problem. ^^

To top this year’s first post off, I have some pictures of an heirloom, related to the 18th century. It’s a clock, that my sister Cecilia laid her hands on while we were cleaning out my dad’s appartment when he went to a retirement home. I’m greeeeeeeeeeeen with envy and so mad at myself for not being there before her to take it into my own posession! ;P It’s probably from the 19th century, but I loooove the details on the girl’s clothes, even in the back! I love that apron and if it turns out it’s somewhat 18th century I think I might make one with this as a model! =) She’s supposed to have a parasol or something in her hand, but it’s lost… =/

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “New year – new energy”

  1. Bum-bi-bum… « Fuchsia’s 18th century dress Says:

    […] I started this project I wanted to use pocket hoops, so I started making a pair. My previous apprehension is now reality though; with the length it’s at now – it will not look very good with […]

Leave a Reply

