Hat quest may soon be over!

I have come to peace with the thought that my tricorne may not be suitable for all 18th century occasions. This though, has resulted in a problem that has been haunting the back of the 18th-century-clothes-making-part of my mind ever since… How to get hold of more accurate hat without spending more than I can (need). – Wow, this has really become a quest for the cheapest way to make an as accurate as possible 18th century outfit, hehe ;P I’ll have to try and write down exactly how little I actually have spent on this project! =D The shoes cost no more than 50 SEK btw – about $5 I should think. ;D
   Anywhooo! My favourite fellow Swedish rococophile Madame Berg just put up a super awesome tutorial on how she made her hat out of round place mats! I am sooo going out right now to look for round place mats!

Round place mats

She allways make everything look so easy – and you don’t even have to make the crown as high as hers. I rather want something smaller and lower, I’m betting that’s even easier! =D

The Swing - hat detail

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Hat quest may soon be over!”

  1. anna Says:

    just found your blog
    and I love it!!!
    maybe you like mine too?

    http://annasinterestingplaces.blogspot.com/

  2. Vivien Says:

    What a cool tutorial! For my straw hat i rather cheated… http://www.just2tailors.com/?category=Hats sell some nice not too expensive straw blanks. I used one to make this hat… http://pupe.ameba.jp/item/dt6tXY-vJ9Gu/KAUcUdawflS1/

  3. Lithia Black Says:

    I’m also about to try this kind of hat. But I will make me a tricorn too, just because I love them so much.

    You have an award to collect here:
    http://lithiablack18thcentury.blogspot.com/2009/09/and-award-goes-to.html

    /L

  4. I heart 18th century Says:

    Maria, I have found your blog’s most helpful!
    I had a hat problem like you, and one day I stumbled on to this blog with the tutorial link you posted and I soon made a hat of my own!
    Now I have a pretty straw mat hat!
    it was surprising how difficult it was to find the straw mats in the shops lol.
    Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

