Speeding up and having to slow down…

So, lately things have been moving forward in quite the pace! =D I’m starting to see what the finished product will look like and that’s allways a great cookie to keep you motivated! =D *Gaaaaargh, coooooockiiiiiiiieeees*
   Hrm… Yeah, so I’m quite pleased with myself! I have been using my fancy sewing machine for inside seems, simply because I think it’ll hold better – and yes for comfort and speed also indeed! But all hems and stuff will be hand sewn. ;D
   I’ve also gotten comments on the button topic. I can’t believe I didn’t think of embroidiered buttons!!! I have seen them and thought “That’s something I want to do some day!”. So today I had my first try – it was easy peasy! =D (Pics to come…) The only thing that’s bothering me though, is that I can’t seem to find many embroidered buttons on women’s clothing – only men’s! =/ Thoughts on that?

Buttons

And on the trim topic: Abby had some great thoughts that I, for some reason, never even thought about: “trim really changed rapidly through the 18th century”… I can’t really do what ever I feel is cute if I want it to at least look somewhat time-typical. This, and the fact that I have been feeling a cream colored trim just wouldn’t do the main fabric justice, have made me reconsider my choice of having it that way. You can’t really find many surviving examples of mid 18th c dresses with different colored trims like that. I think I can make a thin trim of the same fabric – with a little patching, hehe. Worst case scenario I can just have the trim from the neck down to the front hem. =)
   These past few days I’ve had to slow down a bit though – I’m planning Robbie’s 30th birthday! It’s this saturday And I’ll be crazy busy cleaning the appartment – sweeping up threads and puting away fabrics that I strategicly have placed all over our floors. 😄 I feel a bit frustrated about all this – cause I’ve put on only one sleeve and it looks so wrong, hehe. 😄 Next week I’m hoping to be able to finish most of the actual jacket and start with the stomacher. =D
   Oh yes – I’ve got pics of me trying the whole thing, but you’ll have to wait to next week on that too! ;P

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Speeding up and having to slow down…”

  1. mme Berg Says:

    Bleh – I’m in the same situation! In-laws coming over on Sunday and the place looks like the delirious dreams of a mad seamstress!

    I will await pictures eagerly.

  2. Abby Says:

    thanks for the shout out! My link was screwed up (i typed an extra s that didn’t need to be there)

    the proper link is http://stay-ingalive.blogspot.com

    Also I did a quick check through my Kyoto book, and there is a jacket with embroidered buttons…it’s late 18th century, but still justifies your embroidering. 🙂

    Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

