Boning for pocket hoops, check!

Today I went on a scavanger hunt, for a fitting material for my pocket hoops. I went to the Swedish hardware store chain Clas Ohlson just to have a look around. Just when I got in I remembered that Adam, a fellow historical costume maker, tipped me about sewer cord (“rensband” in Swedish) – he had used it for stays before. It’s a spring steel tape and it’s commonly used to clear drains and sewers (haha, I know how it sounds… XD). I thought I’d look it up and when I saw it I just thought it was perfect! I had the feeling it would be a bit wide and stiffer and therefor not very suitable, but it looks great! And the very best thing was: it only cost me 39 SEK, which is like about 4.97 USD or 3.25 GBP, and that’s for 7.5 meters. Yays – pocket hoops next!

sewer rod

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Boning for pocket hoops, check!”

  1. katafalk Says:

    one thing about it is that is is kind of “greasy” so be sure to wipe it of before putting it in, or you will get black grease stains :/

  2. Ellira Says:

    Just found your blog via DA, and WOW! Read the whole thing in one go. :p Love what you’re doing, I’ll be reading. 🙂

  3. Edith Says:

    I also just found your blog via DA; I wanted to mention that Cable ties are also a great substitute for boning. You can buy them at hardware stores, they are usually used to tie cables together, or such. I buy the heavy-duty ones and they are fantastic! They don’t crease like regular plastic boning, and they’re safe to wash because they’re made of plastic.

    I’m quite enjoying your blog, and can’t wait to see what else you come up with!

    Cheers

  4. For future stays, or modification… « Fuchsia’s 18th century dress Says:

    […] stays, or modification… By Maria By chance, today I found a roll of that sewer cord or spring steel tape I’m using for the hoops, but it looks smaller (not home yet, so I don’t know for sure). It might work great as boning […]

Leave a Reply

