Gazue?

So was gazue-type fabrics used for shifts? I’ve found pretty thin linen fabrics, but I still feel they’re too thick to wear under all that clothing in the summer. I’ve found a linen gazue – is that a good idea to use?
   Here’s a linen gazue recommended for different elements in clothing, from flounce to underskirts (from a site not related to anything 18th century):

gazue 1

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Gazue?”

  1. Berg Says:

    In paintings you often see women wearing gauze-like kerchiefs so I can’t see why linen gauze wouldn’t work (unless they didn’t make LINEN gauze of course. That, I don’t know suat about). Can you request a sample from the store, in case it’s VERY sheer? I’ve yet to find handkerchief-style linen in stores in the Stockholm area, so I used a soft (OH so soft!) cotton batist(?) for my shifts. Probably not 100% period correct but it’s absolutely lovely to wear!

    • Maria Says:

      Hmm… I’ll see what I can find in stores before I go buy something off the internet I think, maybe I can find that fabric you’re using! =D

  2. Sara Says:

    They did use fine, thin linens, but I’d head for hanky linen before gauze. You still want something heavy enough to protect your nice fabric and stays from as much sweat as possible. I’m sure the fineness of the linen depended mostly on the status of the wearer, but it still needed to be able to withstand washings and the wear-and-tear of multiple uses.

    • Maria Says:

      Hanky linen is what’s so hard to find… =/ Thanks for the tip though! Never thought about sweat, hehe ^^; And about the wear and tear – the fabric I was thinking about was recommended for underskirts and such – I guess it should be able to withstand some wear and tear, hehe ^^

  3. Rachel Fricker Says:

    I would have to agree with Sara on this one. I re-enact in the maritimes of Canada and have midium weight linen shifts. They keep you cool in the summer and warmer at night.

    The shift goes on under your corset and take quite a bit of wear and tear – ans sweat. Gauze won’t stand up to that. Gauze was used more for the sleeve ruffles, fancy apron (see my shop) and neckershiefs.

    If you want to do it right, I know you do, go with something slightly heavier, it will suprise you!

    • Maria Says:

      Yeah, I’ve been thinking about the fact that you’re wearing it under the stays (that much I knew), I’ll just have to find a linen that isn’t too heavy though, right now all I can find is pretty heavy stuff and I want to try and not order from abroad because of the economy and all… Hmm…

Leave a Reply

