Burn test with satisfying results!

I got very good tips concerning the riddle of the material in the green piece of fabic! Of course I could do a burn test – even an unexperienced wannabe silk snob like me knows that synthetics melt and naturals burn. I just needed a little help on the way to remember I knew that, hrm hrm… ;P Anyways! Katafalk gave me a link to a Swedish sewing/crafts forum where they had a guide to how different fabrics behave when burning. This guide basicly says:

  • Cotton, Linen, Rami, Viskos, Modal, Lyocell – Burns easy with even flame, smells like burnt paper and leaves almost no ashes.
  • Wool and natural silk – Burns jurky and pretty bad, smells like burnt hair and leaves a lump that easily crumbles.
  • Acetat and Triacetat – Burns very fast, smells like burnt paper and vinegar acid (?), leaves a hard lump.
  • Polyamid, Acrylic and Polyester – Doesn’t burn but melts, smell varies with material, leaves a very hard ball or lump.

With this as a guide I made a burn test to decide what kind of material it actually was. When I had a closer look at the fabric I noticed that it was made up of black thicker threads, that definitley felt like cotton or at least natural, and green thin silky threads. The fabric burned easy/fast with even flame and left no ashes or big lumps to speak of, just burned fabric that crumbled at touch. And I think it just smelled burnt…
   Sara said that if it is a home decor type of fabric it probably is a cotton blend and that’s what I think it is after my results. After deciding that it’s not all super melty synthetic I’ve also decided to use it as a petticoat! I think it looks great and it drapes nicely. If I want to be all 18th century later on I can make another petticoat with an all natural fabric – right!?

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Burn test with satisfying results!”

  1. Sara Says:

    Glad you figured it out 🙂 I say, unless you’re super into the historical aspects, wear what you want to with your gown! I’m of the school that feels that the look in the most important thing. Of course, that often means using the natural fiber fabrics, which I love, but for something like a petticoat, most fabrics will look just fine.

    • Maria Says:

      Yeah, I’ve already decided on some other stuff that isn’t very time typical as to materials, so as long as it looks good! ;D
      Thanks for the support, hehe! =D

Leave a Reply

