Ambivalent… Kinda…

I keep bumping in to paintings of women in small tricorne hats – maybe they’re all Venecian? ;P Seriously – I know this woman obviously is dressed up for the occation, but still… I love small tricorne hats and I think I might wear mine with a rather clear conscious later on (even if it isn’t exactly miniature as the one in this painting). No-one can be TOTALLY correct when it comes to making a 18th century outfit of their own – and I just want to have fun with it and wear pretty 18th century clothes as true to that periods ideals as I feel I want them to be… Eeeer, I’d better stop here before I get into that complicated debate! 😄
   Whats your opinion on the hat? Would you despise me and wisper behind my back if I went on and used it as a tricorne?
   Oh, just visit the Finnish National Gallery! =D
Eleonora Gustafa Bonde af Björnö by Jakob Björk

Eleonora Gustafa Bonde af Björnö by Jakob Björk

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Ambivalent… Kinda…”

  1. Berg Says:

    Ljuvlig tavla!

    Enligt min ringa mening tycker jag att du kan bära din hatt med stolthet och glädje. Jag ser trekantshattar på kvinnliga reenactors ganska ofta och visste inte förrän jag läste ditt tidigare inlägg att det var “fel”. Själv tycker jag att det SER rätt ut och du har gjort ett jättebra jobb med din hatt.

    I det “sällskap” där jag brukar vara med är det inte okej att pika folk för att de inte är 100% “rätt”. De som är intresserade att vara 100% rätt får vara det, och de som håller på att lära sig eller helt enkelt inte är så intresserade av den biten har lika kul ändå. Med andra ord, prestige står inte så högt på dagordningen. På andra ställen kan det såklart vara annorlunda.

    Använd hatten. Om du tröttnar på den kan du ju alltid “uppgradera” till något mer “rätt” om du då känner för det (känns som att det blev mycket citationstecken i det här inlägget…). Bara du har kul.

    • Maria Says:

      Hehe, tack så mycket! =D

      Ja, det är väl egentligen bara att ha roligt i någorlunda tidsenliga kläder som “ser rätt ut” som du säger som jag är ute efter. Nu vet jag ju iaf hur det brukade vara på den tiden! =D
      Ska jag vara ärlig tror jag man är noggrannare med sådant utomlands… =/

  2. Elisabeth Says:

    Good point! 😉 But as you already noticed, it’s a mascarade costume…^^

  3. Elisabeth Says:

    Again me…
    The hat depends on your dress. If it’s a française, a flat hat, leaning over your forehead, the back turn (or rise?) up. If it’s an anglaise, a big hat, tipped on the side.

  4. Heather Says:

    Ooo yes, I think it takes a certain woman to pull off the small tricorn hat! You would have to wear it with big hair and a lot of confidence! 😉

Leave a Reply

