Antique tempresses

Just came home from a day well spent at my parents-in-law’s, sat down in front of the computer to feed my current and steadily growing addiction of the 18th century – not that I wasn’t addicted before, but right now everything I do seems to have a connection to this project!
   Anywhooooos! I spent the day thinking of techniques for the emdoidery for the stomacher, browsing my mother-in-law’s, Kristina’s, books on textile handicrafts and embroidery. I have been thinking a lot of ahat kind of fabric I should use as a bottom for the embroidery, what color it should be – if it should match the robe or the petticoat, should I make it to match bothe the first fabric and the second? When I came home I browsed my images of antique dresses to see what was most common and then I yet again searched the net for new influences. I sumbled upon this little temptress of a very short pet-en-l’air:

Pet-en-l'air

Isn’t she goooorgeous? I feel very tempted to make my first pice very much like this! Found her on the Mancheseter Art Gallery’s site: www.manchestergalleries.org (go directly to the full item description by clicking the image).

And how about this little beauty?

CE000618

I can’t tell if it’s a pet-en-l’air or caraco or what ever – but it is certainly absolutely gorgeous! Love that it over all is so simple while the ruffles on the arms are more elaborated. Found at museodeltraje.mcu.es (go directly to the full item description by clicking the image).

And another very inspiring piece is this jacket:

jacket

It’s nothing like what I’m planning, and it’s early 18th century, but I love the shape of it, the fabric, the colors and the sleeeeeeeves!!! ❤ From the same site as above (go directly to the full item description by clicking the image).
   I found links to these pieces at another site I actually hadn’t visited so far, or I think I visited it but didn’t pay attention to the vast collection of links to these antique objects. I think I doubled the size of my 18th century fashion folder, hehe ^^; The site is: http://www.demodecouture.com/realvict/ – creds to them! =D

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Antique tempresses”

  1. Rachel Fricker Says:

    Hey there, the last two are caraco Jackets. You can see the front of the second one has robings which enables it to have the stomacher. Most jackets have this. The few that have a stomacher and no robings have generally been remodeled later in their life.

    the last one comes from the and of the 18th century and has unique sleeve flounces – very Asian inspired.

    The top one is a very cute pet-en-l’air! The sleeves have been remodeled after the initial construction as the tops of them look bunchy. most sleeves, as you can see by the other 2, are smooth in the seams.

    If you’re going to make this check out ‘Costume in Detail’ it’s a great book with lots of pictures and diagrams of gowns and Jackets. Also check out JP Ryans site. The patterns are great and very historically accurate.

    cheers

    Rachel

    • Maria Says:

      Thank you! =)
      About the first caraco jacket, I didn’t know because I didn’t see if the back had that little trail thing, but I guess it hasn’t then. =)
      I didn’t even notice the shoulders of the sleeves on the pet-en-l’air, it does look a bit bunchy yes. =)
      I’ve been told to look that book up, I’ll have to save up money for it though, hehe. ^^;

  2. Middle of the Road – mid-18th Century jacketeering « Jane of All Trades… Says:

    […] Via Fuchsia’s 18th Century Dress. […]

Leave a Reply

