Knotting – how-to

Some of you might have noticed the links under my blogroll. Among my favourte links there’s a site called Fancy Girl – A Modern Day Ladies Book. It’s a small site right now, but it has potential! ;D It’s “A practical website about all things whimsical and fun!” I discovered it while browsing the deviantART gallery of Vivcore. I can’t find much info about the girl behind the site though. =/
   On this site you can find a very useful tutorial for knotting, Vivcore describes it as:

… an old craft popular in the 17th and 18th Centuries that is believed to be the grandmother of modern tatting. / Ladies of leisure used to work knotted threads with their shuttles to create a “pleasant kind of braid”* that was then couched onto embroidery pieces, and resembles a row of closely embroidered french knots. / It was something to do at small gatherings, on long coach rides or just when the light was too poor for any delicate embroidery work.

I love that this was an actual technique used in the 18th century and I’m definetley going to use it for my stomacher! =)

Knotted Rose

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Knotting – how-to”

  1. Nan Says:

    Fancy Girl is indeed a lovely website! Thanks for sharing, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have had the luck to stumble upon it myself xD

Leave a Reply

